Literature Monday; The Essential Rumi

Since Mondays are my least favorite day of the week, I want to try something that will brighten it up a bit. I already made a post about exploring Midtown Scholar last Friday with friends of mine. But who goes to a bookstore and doesn’t buy a book? Well… I guess plenty of people don’t, but I’m not one of them. I purchased The Essential Rumi, a collection of poems by Jelaluddin Rumi, a scholar-turned-poet from the 1200s.

In case you’ve never read any of them, his poems are gorgeous. There are plenty of wonderful poets in the world, but Rumi has a special touch that I can’t seem to find anywhere else. Either way, I decided to share one of his poems with you all. You can decide for yourself.

Dissolver of Sugar

Dissolver of sugar, dissolve me,

if this is the time.

Do it gently with a touch of a hand, or a look.

Every morning I wait a down, that’s when

it’s happened before. Or do it suddenly

like an execution. How else

can I get ready for death?

You breath without a body like a spark.

You grieve, and I begin to feel lighter.

You keep me away with your arm,

but the keeping away is pulling me in.

~

Pale sunlight,

pale the wall.

Love moves away.

The light changes.

I need more grace

than I thought.

Leave a Reply

